Loading... Please wait...

Julian Curwin - The Mango Balloon: Volume 2

Available Now!

Album Description

Newmarket Music and Romero Records are pleased to announce the forthcoming release of Julian Curwin’s ‘The Mango Balloon: Volume 2’. For those of you not aware, The Mango Balloon is essentially a smaller, stripped-back chamber version of The Tango Saloon, bringing together the sounds of lounge, exotica and continental jazz with The Tango Saloon’s signature blend of tango and spaghetti western.

The second instalment of The Mango Balloon sees the band and special guest vocalist/guitarist Brian Campeau take the music to other exotic places, including swampy blues, soaring mountain music, and the delicate waltz of first single ‘Dancing On My Own Grave’.

The Mango Ballon are Julian Curwin on guitars and piano; Marcello Maio on accordion and piano; Sam Golding on trumpet and tuba; Mark Harris on double bass; Danny Heifetz on drums; Jess Ciampa on percussion and special guest Brian Campeau on vocals (tracks 1, 5, 8 and 12), acoustic guitar (track 1) and harmonica (track 5).


Tracks from this album can be previewed at www.soundcloud.com/newmarketmusic.


“With its blitheness, quirkiness and affecting beauty, Curwin's new project carries echoes of figures as diverse as Erik Satie, Nino Rota and Django Reinhardt.” - John Shand, Sydney Morning Herald


“…the Balloon breezes along on a carefully crafted, carefree adventure to any Shangri-La we fancy.” - Roger Mitchell, Herald Sun


“This is engaging and highly infectious music that is likely to get you practising your salidas and ochos around the living room. Don¹t worry if you can¹t tango, however, as this CD rewards the listener and the dancer equally.” - Aaron Searle, Music Forum


Track Listing

1. Dancing On My Own Grave

2. Romero

3. Bubble Boy

4. Fiesta

5. Deliverance

6. Grindhouse

7. The Bridge

8. Sleepwalker

9. The Stand

10. A Duet

11. The Two Taverns

12. Brocken Spectre

13. On The Road



Find Similar Albums by Tag

Find Similar Albums by Genre

Album Reviews

This album hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this album!

Write your own album review

Add to Wish List

Click the button below to add the Julian Curwin - The Mango Balloon: Volume 2 to your wish list.

You Recently Viewed...